Book Blog Memes

#Diversiverse with Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

amdubanner-col2[1]

This is my first time participating in #Diversiverse with the fabulous blog of BookLust where Chicagoan Aarti has been blogging since 2005. She has some excellent posts about why reading diversely is important and this challenge (I wouldn’t really call it a challenge) occurs the last two weeks of September. All that is required is to read and review one book written by a person of color.

I am proud to say that I have read many books by diverse authors and this time thought I would focus on a children’s book. One that I have had my eye on for some time and tracked down at BEA to get my hands on.

20660824[1]

“Jacqueline Woodson, one of today’s finest writers, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.

Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place.

In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement.

Touching and powerful, each poem is both accessible and emotionally charged, each line a glimpse into a child’s soul as she searches for her place in the world.

Woodson’s eloquent poetry also reflects the joy of finding her voice through writing stories, despite the fact that she struggled with reading as a child.

Her love of stories inspired her and stayed with her, creating the first sparks of the gifted writer she was to become.”  ~Goodreads


Published: August 2014 by Nancy Paulsen Books

Length: 336 pages

Audience: Ages 10 & up; Grades 4 & up; everyone 🙂

Genre: Poetry, Autobiography/Memoir; Children’s Literature; Middle Grades; African American Culture; History; Non Fiction


Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (August 28, 2014) is many things. It’s poetry, a memoir, vignettes of what it was like growing up in the country and city, family love and descriptions of the surroundings around her seen through the eyes of a child. She beautifully expresses what it was like to experience first-hand, the different treatment of African Americans in the North and South. But what stood out to me most was the strength and sincere love felt within her family. The warmth radiated off the pages. Like the cover, I felt every time I opened the book I was drawn in to some sort of spell. Gorgeous prose! Simply breathtaking.

“Even the silence

has a story to tell you.

Just listen. Listen.”

~”how to listen #7″

This collection of poetry should be savored and reflected upon. I would love to see this required reading in schools, grades 4 and up and look forward to sharing it with my own children. This post might be short but I feel like this is the sort of book to be experienced personally.

“I believe in one day and someday and this

perfect moment called Now.”

~part of “what I believe”

Read-Alikes:

  How I Discovered Poetry     

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#Diversiverse with Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

  1. This was a popular choice for Diversiverse and I’m so glad! I probably never would have thought to pick up a novel written in verse otherwise.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s