Get Your TBR List Ready!

New releases and reviews for February

There are so many new books being released everyday and searching through publisher’s catalogues is exciting and daunting at the same time. I have my favorite authors that I always request but then I try to find debut authors and books of different genres that catch my attention from the synopsis. I tend to stay away from review sites when choosing so my requests are based on my gut reaction. My goal is to read three or four new releases and that might not seem like many but then add those to my ever growing TBR pile of books already released and the month is up. New features on The Daily Dosage are a “Conquering the Classics” page as well as a “Kiddie Corner” page where I finally tackle that coveted classic and then use my children’s literature experience to review and recommend a children’s chapter book to enjoy with your budding reader. Have I taken on too much? Maybe. I didn’t get a classic or children’s book up on the site for January but tomorrow is another day.

Well, be careful what you wish for. Or in this case request. I have five new releases that I am excited to review this month!

And what a variety…contemporary fiction, historical fiction, suspense/thriller and a beautiful memoir from authors we love as well as a debut novel.

February 2014 reviews

Glitter and Glue: A Memoir by Kelly Corrigan (February 4, 2014): “From the New York Times bestselling author of The Middle Place comes a new memoir that examines the bond—sometimes nourishing, sometimes exasperating, occasionally divine—between mothers and daughters.” ~ Goodreads

The Bear: A Novel by Claire Cameron (February 11, 2014): “A powerfully suspenseful story narrated by a young girl who must fend for herself and her little brother after a brutal bear attack.” ~ Goodreads

The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick (February 11, 2014): “Call it fate. Call it synchronicity. Call it an act of God. Call it . . . The Good Luck of Right Now. From the New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook comes an entertaining and inspiring tale that will leave you pondering the rhythms of the universe and marveling at the power of kindness and love.” ~ Goodreads

Wake: A Novel by Anna Hope (February 11, 2014): “A brilliant debut for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, in which three women must deal with the aftershocks of WWI and its impact on the men in their lives-a son, a brother and a lover. Their tragic connection is slowly revealed as the book unfolds.” ~ Goodreads

The Daring Ladies of Lowell: A Novel by Kate Alcott (February 25, 2014): “From the best-selling author of The Dressmaker comes the warm-hearted and enthralling saga of a bold young woman caught between two worlds-the vibrant camaraderie of factory life and the opulence that a budding romance with the mill owner’s son affords-as the murder of her best friend sends shock waves throughout the town.” ~ Goodreads

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s